Planning your 2021 reading list? Explore Our New Best-Seller STEM Books Collection!
Chaos: Making a New Science

Chaos: Making a New Science

James Gleick

The million-copy bestseller by National Book Award nominee and Pulitzer Prize finalist James Gleick—the author of Time Travel: A History—that reveals the science behind chaos theory.

 

A work of popular science in the tradition of Stephen Hawking and Carl Sagan, this 20th-anniversary edition of James Gleick’s groundbreaking bestseller Chaos introduces a whole new readership to chaos theory, one of the most significant waves of scientific knowledge in our time. Edward Lorenz’s discovery of the Butterfly Effect to Mitchell Feigenbaum’s calculation of a universal constant to Benoit Mandelbrot’s fractals concept created a new geometry of nature. Gleick’s engaging narrative focuses on the key figures whose genius converged to chart an innovative science direction. In Chaos, Gleick makes the story of chaos theory fascinating and accessible to beginners and opens our eyes to a surprising new view of the universe.

Similar Books

The Code Breaker: Jennifer Doudna, Gene Editing, and the Future of the Human Race
Liftoff: Elon Musk and the Desperate Early Days That Launched SpaceX
Thirty Years that Shook Physics: The Story of Quantum Theory
Six Easy Pieces: Essentials of Physics Explained by Its Most Brilliant Teacher
Space!: The Universe as You've Never Seen It Before
Leonardo da Vinci
Delta-v
Math with Bad Drawings